Technical Centre for Agriculture and Rural Cooperation ACP-EU (CTA)


The Technical Centre for Agricultural and Rural Cooperation (CTA; www.cta.int) is a joint international institution of the African, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) Group of States and the European Union (EU). Its mission is to advance food and nutritional security, increase prosperity and encourage sound natural resource management in ACP countries. It provides access to information and knowledge, facilitates policy dialogue and strengthens the capacity of agricultural and rural development institutions and communities.

ICT for agriculture and agribusiness, notably led by young entrepreneurs and innovators, are key areas of intervention for the institution.

CTA’s 2016-2020 Strategic Plan identifies three strategic goals which contribute to greater food and nutrition security and achieve the greatest impact for CTA’s work.

Our three strategic goals are:

– Profitable smallholder value chains
– Conducive agricultural policies
– Enhanced capacity for knowledge management (including ICTs) for agricultural stakeholders

Smallholders need profitable value chains; the development of profitable value chains requires supportive agricultural policies; and both are boosted by improved knowledge management. To make this possible, CTA has organised its activities under two operational programmes:

– Policies, Markets, and Information & Communication Technologies (PMI)
– Knowledge Management and Communication (KMC)

CTA operates under the framework of the Cotonou Agreement and is funded by the EU.CTA operates under the framework of the Cotonou Agreement and is funded by the EU.

More information http://www.cta.int




Website Visit website
Location Netherlands
Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Côte d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe
Sectors Agribusiness, EdTech, HealthTech, Internet, Mobile




Kitovu Technology Company
Transforming African agriculture, one farmer at a time.
Nigeria Agritech, Artificial intelligence, Machine learnin…
CowTribe Africa
Harnessing the power of technology to deliver animal vaccines
Ghana Agritech, E-commerce, Mobile
GO Ltd
Optimizing distribution of fresh food in cities
Rwanda Agribusiness, Crop farming
1st Agroecological e-commerce and producer support platform
Benin Agribusiness, Blockchain, Clean technology
Digital financial inclusion system for small holder farmers
Uganda Agribusiness, Animal farming, Crop farming