Development Innovation Ventures (DIV)

DIV turns bright ideas into real results



DIV turns bright ideas into real results. As USAID’s open innovation program, DIV provides flexible grants to test new ideas and scale the most effective solutions.

DIV takes strategic risks with a tiered, evidence-driven model:

Stage 1: Proof of Concept ($50,000 to $200,000 – up to 3 years)
Stage 2: Testing and Positioning for Scale ($200,000 to $1,500,000 – up to 3 years)
Stage 3: Scaling ($1,500,000 to $5,000,000 – up to 5 years)
In addition to tiered funding, DIV provides separate evidence grants (up to $1,500,000) to support research and evaluations that generate rigorous evidence of an innovation’s impact per dollar and potential for expansion. Evidence grants support impact evaluations (including randomized controlled trials and quasi-experimental methods), as well as other methods of assessing impact.

Open innovation means that game-changing ideas come from anyone, anywhere, and at any time. DIV is open year-round and reviews applications on a rolling basis. We fund innovations in any sector and any country where USAID operates.


Step 1: Learn about DIV and decide whether it’s right for you
Review our website, including the DIV model and different stages of funding. Review the Annual Program Statement (APS) before submitting an application through our online portal. You can also browse current and past winners in our portfolio. Only applicants that demonstrate a full understanding of DIV’s evaluation criteria will be considered for funding. Reviewing all of these resources before submitting your application is critical. DIV receives over 1,000 applications each year.

Step 2: Submit your application to DIV at any time
Prepare your application by using the sample application (in Word format) to work on your application offline. Once ready, submit your application through our online portal below. In response to various questions, describe the problem, proposed solution, expected activities and outcomes, evaluation plan, and project team. Applications are accepted and evaluated on a rolling basis, year-round. Applicants will receive a response to this initial application within 1-2 months of submission.

Step 3: Participate in the DIV due diligence process
A select group of applicants pass the initial review and move onto the due diligence stage. During this phase, applicants will have the opportunity to pitch their proposal for the DIV team to better understand the proposed solution. The DIV team may conduct additional interviews, request supplementary materials, contact references or partners, engage other USAID or external experts, and gather any other information to fully evaluate the application. The due diligence process takes 2-5 months, depending on a variety of factors, such as the proposal’s technical complexity.

Step 4: Negotiate and finalize the grant award
After collecting sufficient information, the DIV team will convene a technical evaluation committee. If the panel makes a funding recommendation, the applicant will receive an official “Notice of Intent to Award.” Once recommended for funding, you enter the process to negotiate and finalize the grant award, primarily involving USAID’s Office of Acquisition and Assistance (OAA) and the DIV team. In addition to completing various materials required by the Agency, an important part of this process is negotiating the project milestones that will structure the award payments. DIV provides funding only when specific results and milestones are achieved. The process to negotiate and finalize the award can take 3-5 months.

Step 5: Receive DIV funding!
Once OAA determines that all requirements are met, OAA will award the grant. From the date you submit an application to the date of award finalization, the process can vary between 6 to 12 months.

CLICK HERE for more information


December 31, 2018
Website Visit website
Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Congo, Democratic Republic of the, Côte d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Northern Africa, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe
Sectors Sector agnostic