Small Enterprise Development Agency (SEDA)


The Small Enterprise Development Agency (Seda) is an agency of the Department of Small Business Development. Seda was established in December 2004, through the National Small Business Amendment Act, Act 29 of 2004. 

It is mandated to implement government’s small business strategy; design and implement a standard and common national delivery network for small enterprise development; and integrate government-funded small enterprise support agencies across all tiers of government.

Seda’s mission is to develop, support and promote small enterprises throughout the country, ensuring their growth and sustainability in co-ordination and partnership with various role players, including global partners, who make international best practices available to local entrepreneurs.

The SEDA Technology Programme (STP) provides financial and nonfinancial support to small enterprises through business incubation, technology transfer, and quality and standards services. It has an Incubation Unit, a Quality and Standards Unit (to assist SMMEs with quality control and assessment processes, as well as internal management and operation systems) and a Technological Transfer Unit (to assist SMMEs with access to and use of technology or technological equipment).

STP’s incubation division, which has more than 24 incubation centers spread across the country in specific sectors. The incubation division uses three different organizational models of Technology Business Centres to incubate both start-ups and enterprises requiring rehabilitation:

– Technology Demonstration Centres (TDCs), which focus on demonstrating, exhibiting and providing training in the use of available technologies – especially with regards to value-addition processes

– Technology Incubators (TIS), which provide a sheltered and protected environment within which to support and nurture technology-based start-ups and enterprises requiring ‘rehabilitation / resuscitation’

– Hybrid Centres combine elements of the previous models whilst at the same time incorporating elements or features of the local environment within which these centres are located, to address specific needs of the small enterprises within that environment.

The focus industries for incubation are Agriculture, Automotive, Biotechnology, Chemicals, Construction, High-tech, ICT, Jewellery, Manufacturing, Metal jewellery and Metals. 


Website Visit website
Location 1066 Burnett Street, Hatfield, Pretoria, South Africa
Targets South Africa
Sectors Sector agnostic