2nd International Agrobiodiversity Congress

Transforming food systems and deliver on the 2030 Sustainable Development Agenda

2nd International Agrobiodiversity Congress

This four-day virtual and interactive Congress will bring together scientists, practitioners, Indigenous Peoples, development organizations, and policymakers to share and advance scientific research, nature-positive solutions, policies, and practices. Join us as we work to transform food systems and deliver on the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development through the use and conservation of agrobiodiversity. 

Event Highlights

World-renowned scientists, policymakers, development organizations, business leaders, and representatives from rural agricultural communities around the world will speak about the role of agrobiodiversity in the context of food consumption and production, and the urgent need to conserve it. Sessions will be engaging and interactive, providing a collaborative space to discuss cutting-edge scientific research and case studies of how agrobiodiversity can help to transform food systems.

 What is Agrobiodiversity?

Agrobiodiversity is the wealth of different plants, animals, and microbes that make up our agricultural systems. It is the menu of different foods we eat. It is the foundation of resilient, sustainable, and nutritious food systems. Learn more.

The 2nd International Agrobiodiversity Congress is convened by the Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation, CGIAR, and the Alliance of Bioversity International and CIAT, and organized in collaboration with a wide range of partner organizations



Organizer CGIAR
Website Visit website
Location Online
Africa, Antarctica Region, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Asia, Australia and New Zealand, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Europe, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Micronesia, Nicaragua, Northern America, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay, Venezuela
Sectors Sector agnostic