STARTS Prize 2019

STARTS: Innovation at the nexus of Science, Technology and ARTS


Grand prize of the European Commission honouring innovation in technology, industry and society stimulated by the arts


STARTS is an initiative of the European Commission to foster alliances of technology and artistic practice. As part of this initiative, the STARTS Prize awards the most pioneering collaborations and results in the field of creativity and innovation at the crossings of science and technology with the arts. The STARTS Prize of the European Commission is launched by Ars Electronica, BOZAR and Waag.

Science, Technology and Arts (=STARTS) form a nexus with an extraordinarily high potential for creative innovation. And such innovation is considered to be precisely what’s called for if we’re to master the social, ecological and economic challenges that Europe will be facing in the near future. The role of artists thus is no longer seen to be just about propagating scientific and technological knowledge and skills among the general public but much more as a kind of catalyst that can inspire and trigger innovative processes. The artistic practice of creative exploration and experimental appropriation of new technologies has a wide-reaching potential to contribute to the development of new products and new economic, social and business models. Accordingly, the STARTS Prize focuses on artistic works that influence or change the way we look at technology, and on innovative forms of collaboration between the ICT sector and the world of art and culture.


Two prizes, each with € 20,000 prize money, are offered to honour innovative projects at the intersection of science, technology and the arts: one for artistic exploration, and thus projects with the potential to influence or change the way technology is deployed, developed or perceived, and one for innovative collaboration between industry/technology and art/culture in ways that open up new paths for innovation.

Grand Prize – Artistic Exploration Awarded for artistic exploration and artworks where appropriation by the arts has a strong potential to influence or alter the use, deployment or perception of technology.
Grand Prize – Innovative Collaboration Awarded for innovative collaboration between industry or technology and the arts that open new pathways for innovation.


The submission phase for 2019 STARTS Prize begins on January 10th, 2019. The submission platform is accessible between January 10th and March 1st, 2019. The jury convenes on April 15th, 2019. All STARTS Prize 2019 winners will be notified in May 2019 at the latest.

The winning projects will be presented at the Ars Electronica Festival in September 2019 in Linz, Austria, at the BOZAR Electronic Arts Festival in September/October 2019 in Brussels, Belgium, at Waag in Amsterdam, Netherlands and at various partners worldwide.


January 10, 2019: Submission phase for the STARTS Prize 2019 starts
March 1, 2019: Entry deadline
April 11-15, 2019: Jury Meeting
May 2019: Announcement of the winners
September 5-9, 2019: Ceremony, exhibition and talks at Ars Electronica Festival

CLICK HERE for more info


March 1, 2019
Program dates Sep 5 - Sep 9, 2019
Website Visit website
Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Congo, Democratic Republic of the, Côte d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Northern Africa, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Tanzania, United Republic of, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe
Adtech, Arts, Biotechnology and medical research, Clean technology, EdTech, HealthTech, Information technology, Nanotech